Graph Theory

Math 852 Spring 2008 Section 001

Announcements:
(May 13) I have finished grading the final exam and calculating the final grades. I have uploaded both of these to Blackboard.
Thanks for your hard work during the semester! I greatly enjoyed teaching the class. Have a great summer!
 
Course Materials:
    Course policies and course log recording topics covered in each lecture.
    Textbook: Introduction to Graph Theory by Douglas B. West, Prentice Hall, 2nd ed, 2001.

Homework:
homework #1, due Wed Jan 23
homework #2, due Fri Feb 1
homework #3, due Mon Feb 11
homework #4, due Wed Feb 20
homework #5, due Fri Feb 29 Mon Mar 3
homework #6, due Mon Mar 10 Wed Mar 12
homework #7, due Fri Mar 28
homework #8, due Fri Apr 4
homework #9, due Mon Apr 14
homework #10, due Wed Apr 23
homework #11, due Wed Apr 30
additional suggested exercises: 7.2: 44; 7.3: 5,13,18

 
Instructor:
    Stephen Hartke, hartke @ No . Spam . únl . edu (appropriately changed)
    Office: Avery Hall Room 339, Phone: 402-472-7001
    Office Hours: Mon, Wed, Fri 10:30am-11:20am, or by appointment.
Meeting Times:
    Mon, Wed, and Fri, 9:30am-10:20am, Avery Hall Room 112
Tests:
    There will be 2 2-hour evening tests: Tues Feb 26 (in 112 Avery) and Tues Apr 8 (in 110 Avery), both from 6-8pm.
Final Exam:
    Wed, May 7, 10:00am-12:00pm Avery Hall Room 112
 
Old Announcements:
(Apr 30) The final exam will be Wed May 7 10:00am-12:00pm in Avery Hall Room 112. The exam will be cumulative, but with an emphasis on material covered since the last test. The format will be similar to the tests, but shorter. As before, you will be able to use a notes sheet (8.5x11 sheet with anything written on the front or back).
(Apr 11) We will not have class on Fri Apr 18.
(Apr 11) I have fixed the "+1" for everyone's grade on Test 2 in my records, and I have uploaded the corrected grades to Blackboard. Please make sure that your grade was calculated correctly.
(Apr 2) Test #2 will be Tues Apr 8 in 110 Avery starting at 6pm. The test will be designed for two hours, but you will be able to work at least until 10pm. The format will be similar to the first test, and again you will be able to use a notes sheet (8.5x11 sheet with anything written on the front or back). The material covered will be up through the probabilistic method.
(Mar 24) Here is the summary of the feedback surveys. Thanks to everyone who filled out a survey!
(Mar 12) I distributed the informal feedback survey forms in class today. Please fill them out and return them in class on Friday or to my mailbox or under the door of my office. Thanks for your input!
(Mar 7) The due date for Homework #6 has been postponed to Wed Mar 12.
(Feb 28) Homework #5 may be submitted in class on Mon Mar 3.
(Feb 20) The first test will be Tues Feb 26 from 6pm to 8pm in 112 Avery Hall. For the test you will be able to use one 8.5x11in sheet of paper with whatever notes you want on it. The material covered will be up through the maximum weighted bipartite matching.
(Feb 4) Jamie Radcliffe will guest lecture on Wed Feb 6. Here is the alternate proof of the Matrix Tree Theorem.
(Jan 24) We will NOT have class on Mon Jan 28. We will have class on Wed Jan 30 with Jamie Radcliffe as the guest lecturer. HW 2 is due on Fri Feb 1 during our normal lecture. I should be around Thurs Jan 31 afternoon if you want to ask questions.
(Jan 18) We will NOT have class on Mon Jan 21. HW 1 is due on Wed Jan 23 during our normal lecture.
(Jan 16) We will have class on Mon Jan 21 at 11:30am.
The two evening tests will be Tues Feb 26 and Tues Apr 8, both from 6-8pm.
(Jan 16) Based on the feedback from the initial questionnaire, we will have class on Mon Jan 21. Also, my office hours have changed slightly to MWF 10:30am-11:20am (in other words, right after class).

    Back This page last modified .