Graph Theory

Math 852 Spring 2010 Section 001

Announcements:
(May 8) I have finished grading the final exam and computing course grades. I have uploaded these to Blackboard. Please let me know if you have any questions or would like to see your final exam. I will return the copied homeworks and tests on Monday (I will put them in people's mailboxes).
Thanks for your hard work this semester! I greatly enjoyed teaching this course, and I hope that you enjoyed it, too. Have a great summer break!
 
Course Materials:
    Course information and course log recording topics covered in each lecture.
    Textbook: prepublication version of Combinatorial Mathematics (corrections) by D.B. West.

Homework:
homework #1, due Fri Jan 22 Wed Jan 27
homework #2, due Wed Feb 3 Fri Feb 5
homework #3, due Fri Feb 12
homework #4, due Mon Feb 22
homework #5, due Wed Mar 3
homework #6, due Fri Mar 12
homework #7, due Wed Mar 31
homework #8, due Wed Apr 7
homework #9, due Fri Apr 16
homework #10, due Fri Apr 23
homework #11, due Fri Apr 30

 
Instructor:
    Stephen Hartke, hartke @ No . Spam . mäth . únl . edu (appropriately changed)
    Office: Avery Hall Room 339, Phone: 402-472-7001
    Office Hours: Mon, Wed, and Fri, 10:30-11:20am, or by appointment.
Meeting Times:
    Mon, Wed, and Fri, 9:30am-10:20am, Avery Hall Room 108
Collaborative Study Sessions:
    Mon 5-6pm, Avery Hall Room 348 (lounge)
Tests:
    Evening tests: Thurs Feb 25, 6-8pm and Thurs Apr 15, 6-8pm, 351 Avery Hall
Final Exam:
    Wed May 5, 10:00am-12:00pm Avery Hall Room 108
 
Old Announcements:
(Apr 28) The final exam will be Wednesday May 5 at 10:00am-12:00pm in Avery Hall Room 108. The exam will focus on coloring and planarity. You may bring a notes sheet: one 8.5x11 sheet of paper with anything you want written on it, front and back.
(Apr 26) The collaborative study session will be held this week at 3pm on Tues Apr 27 in the lounge.
(Apr 19) Wikipedia has nice pages (with pictures!) describing the Platonic and Archimedean solids, as does MathWorld (Platonic and Archimedean).
(Apr 7) The second test will be Thursday April 15 at 6pm in 351 Avery. The test will cover through the material on network flows. You may bring a notes sheet: one 8.5x11 sheet of paper with anything you want written on it, front and back.
(Sep 14) Thanks to everyone for filling out the informal feedback survey! Here is a summary of the responses.
(Feb 24) Here is a write-up of the induction proof of the Matrix Tree Theorem.
(Feb 12) The first test will be Thursday Feb 25 at 6pm in 351 Avery. The material will cover up through the lecture of Fri Feb 19. You may bring a notes sheet: one 8.5x11 sheet of paper with anything you want written on it, front and back.
(Jan 29) Here are the Sage calculations of the Möbius μ function shown in class.
(Jan 11) Based on availability and preference, the evening tests are scheduled for Thurs Feb 25, 6-8pm and Thurs Apr 15, 6-8pm.

    Back This page last modified .